Healing Plantar Fasciitis Without Surgery

Talk about other treatments like ESWT, Topical Creams, Experimental, etc.

Healing Plantar Fasciitis Without Surgery

Postby Kaelyn on Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:24 am

Heel pain and plantar fasciitis affects nearly 2 million Americans per year. The pain can range from mild to murderous. There is a lot of professional debate about treatment methods, but too many professionals ignore the role of basic foot mechanics.

I am a medical massage therapist with 24 years in the field, my first 5 working for an orthopedic surgeon, doing hip, knee, and ankle injury and surgical re-hab. We simply did not do surgery or shockwave for plantar fasciitis or tarsal tunnel syndrome. We didn't need to. 3-6 sessions, @ 30 minutes per foot was sufficient. Most patients took 4 treatments. No patient we treated in this fashion required surgery in the 5 years I was there. Understand, this is not standard, Swedish, "Calgon!., take me away" massage. It is firm, and VERY muscle specific. You will absolutely feel results your first session, often as soon as you stand up. The pain isn’t all gone, but it IS significantly reduced. Once the course of treatment is completed a few patients, usually those heavily involved in competitive sports, will do a "tune-up" every 6-12 months, but it's uncommon. I am a firm believer in giving people the tools they need to help themselves, which is why I’ve been teaching classes to massage professionals and the public since 1992. It’s why I’m writing and posting this.